Form Five Selection TAMISEMI 2023 Waliopata Ajira New Employed Teachers 2023 Form Five Selection 2023 WALIOCHAGULIWA FORM ONE SELECTION 2023 MIHULA YA MASOMO 2023 DAR ES SALAAM REGION EVERYTHING ABOUT THE CITY List of Regions and All Districts - Councils in Tanzania


Dar es Salaam (/ˌdɑːr ɛs səˈlɑːm/; from Arabic: دار السلام, romanized: Dār as-Salām, lit. ’Abode of Peace’) or commonly known as Dar, is the largest city and financial hub of Tanzania.

It is also the capital of Dar es Salaam Region. With a population of over six million people, Dar is the largest city in East Africa and the seventh-largest in Africa.

Located on the Swahili coast, Dar es Salaam is an important economic centre and is one of the fastest-growing cities in the world


The city of Dar es Salaam began as a small fishing village known as Mzizima. This village was founded by the Balawa who mixed with the Zaramo towards the areas of the East African Continent and which were known as ‘Caravan Routes’.

The construction of the Sultan’s Residence along with the port officially started in 1865 in the area of ​​Mzizima village. The construction was completed in 1866 and Sultan Majid bin Said moved to Dar es Salaam that year.

Once Sultan Majid bin Said moved to Dar es Salaam, the city began to expand and its economy grew rapidly, even though for a short period when Sultan Majid bin Said died in 1870.

The death of the Sultan caused the decline of the development of the city of Dar es Salaam. The situation began to change again in 1884 following the establishment of the German East African colony. In 1891

The German colonial government decided to move the headquarters of its administration in East Africa from Bagamoyo to Dar es Salaam. However, after the Germans were defeated by the British in the First World War in 1916, the city of Dar es Salaam continued to be the headquarters of the British colonial administration in Tanganyika until it gained its independence in 1961.

Dar es Salaam continued to be the headquarters of independent Tanganyika and eventually became the headquarters of the Government of the United Republic of Tanzania until 1972 when the Government decided to move its headquarters to Dodoma. The city of Dar es Salaam continued to remain popular for being the main city and center of business in Tanzania.

Status of Town, Municipality and City

The city of Dar es Salaam was declared as a city with its own local government in 1920. The status of the city of Dar es Salaam was raised to that of a municipality in 1949 and was later awarded the status of a city by the Queen of the British Empire on December 10, 1961, immediately after Tanganyika gained independence. his.

From that period, the City of Dar es Salaam was led by the City Council until 1972 when the Government dissolved all Local Governments in the country in order to implement the system of power in Mikoni. City authorities were restored to power in 1978 when the City Council of Dar es Salaam started working again.

Local Governments

Before Colonialism, Chiefs and Traditional Elders ruled. During the German rule (1884-1917), colonial rule was more direct in urban areas. During the British rule (1917-1961) in 1926 there was tribal rule.

The Law of Local Governments began in 1953 and the Law of Cities in 1946. After 1961, the Administration of Chiefs was removed and the Joint System of Local Governments began. In 1972, Local Governments were removed and Urban Administration started and in 1982, the Local Government Act was reinstated.

In 1984, the system of Local Governments was restored and lasted until 1995. A plan for the improvement of Local Governments to make them capable of performance, transparency and responsibility was started in 1996 known as “Local Government Reform Programme”.

The region of Dar es Salaam with an area of ​​1,800 square kilometers was established from the Coast Region in 1973 with 3 districts of Ilala, Kinondoni and Temeke. The current Local Government Authorities of Dar es Salaam Region were established in 2000 after the dissolution of the City Commission that existed following the dissolution of Local Governments in 1996 which continued until the end of 1999.


A model public institution for advice and coordination in Tanzania.


To ensure the existence of Social and Economic development by providing consulting and coordination services thus creating a better working environment for Local Governments and other stakeholders.

Institutional Structure

Districts of Dar es Salaam Region

1. Kinondoni

Kinondoni is the most populated of the districts. It houses half of the city’s population and several high-income suburbs.

<<<<Read More About Kinondoni MC>>>>

2. Ilala

The administrative district of Ilala contains almost all government offices, ministries, and the Central Business District. It is the transportation hub of the city, as the Julius Nyerere International Airport, Central Railway Station and Tazara Railway Station are all within the district’s boundaries

<<<<Read More About Ilala MC>>>>

3. Temeke

Temeke is the fifth industrial district of the city, where manufacturing (both heavy and light industry) is located. To the east is the Port of Dar es Salaam, the largest in the country.

Temeke is believed to have the largest concentration of low-income residents due to industry. It is home to military and police officers as well as port officials.

<<<<Read More About TEMEKE MC>>>>

4. Ubungo

The Ubungo terminal serves as a transportation link to most large Dar es Salaam urban nodes. The narrow-gauge commuter rail runs from there to the city centre, with ten level crossings along the route.

<<<<<Read More About Ubungo MC>>>>>

5. Kigamboni

Kigamboni (also known as South Beach), a beachfront suburb on a peninsula, is home to an economically diverse population. Access to the suburb is mainly by ferry, although the Kigamboni Bridge provides an alternative.

<<<<<Read More About Kigamboni MC>>>>>>>

Historical plan for 1940-1960. Kinondoni Cemetery I and the cemeteries along Ocean Road (east of the Golf Course) that were moved to Regent Estate in the 1960’s are marked with a “C”. (Source: Lupala [2002, p. 47])

Historical plan for 1940-1960. Kinondoni Cemetery I and the cemeteries along Ocean Road (east of the Golf Course) that were moved to Regent Estate in the 1960's are marked with a "C". (Source: Lupala [2002, p. 47])


Dar es Salaam experiences tropical climatic conditions, typified by hot and humid weather throughout much of the year due to its proximity to the equator and the warm Indian Ocean.

It has a tropical wet and dry climate (Köppen: Aw/As). Annual rainfall is approximately 1,100 mm (43 in), and in a normal year there are two rainy seasons: the “long rains” in April and May, and the “short rains” in November and December.

Map showing the FIVE districts of Dar es Salaam Region

Map of Dar es Salaam showing regional and district boundaries [13, 14]. | Download Scientific Diagram



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here